Tony Campolo

by brittneelynch

Earlier in the year I was lucky enough to hear Tony Campolo speak in Ft. Lauderdale. He talked a great deal on how meeting the needs of people is a trademark of Christianity; if you’re a Christian, you help the poor, sick, and marginalized. This was my second time listening to him drive home this point.

A couple of years ago, the first time I heard it, I still felt well enough to let his words move me to action. This time I wondered how in the hell a sick person (who can barely sit up long enough to hear the instructions) is supposed to help anyone else. So I asked him.

He said the poorest people he knows are the most generous givers–like Mother Teresa. He said he’s never been sick and has never taken care of a sick person. But he would bet a sick person would know how to take care of a sick person.

So, I guess in kingdom economics,  I’m the richest and healthiest if I’m am the poorest and sickest.  Is this good? I kinda just want to be the regular kind of rich and well if I get to spend eternity with Jesus anyway.

Nothing makes sense and I am 100% upset about it.

 

 

